Time Waits for No Man, Except when He’s Waiting for a Taxi.

6/11/2014

Kensington – Richmond

The overnight stay in Kensington had really wiped me out. The prospect of retracing my steps to get home on public transport was something I just couldn’t face so I wimped out.

I decided to splash out, to spoil myself on a door-to-door chauffeur driven service, or a mini-cab as they’re commonly known.

How long would you wait for a mini cab? 10 minutes, perhaps 20?

Having to get an accessible cab meant waiting 90 minutes.Waiting for a cab is one of those things that seems to defy science. Einstein’s observations of time seem to take on a new perspective as the wait stretches out. The people around you seem to be moving at normal speed, but a little bubble of non-time surrounds you and leaves you stranded in some envelope of space-time disconnected from those around you. Douglas Adams called it “The Long Dark Teatime of the Soul.” Maybe once CERN have finished studying matter they could move on to the phenomena surrounding waiting for a cab. Anyway, I digress….

Then when the cab arrived, him or me not entirely knowing the area, I spent 10 minutes wandering around the local streets whilst on my phone to the driver trying to get us both in the same place at the same time. Towards the end it had the distinct feeling of a low budget Ealing comedy.

Once securely enveloped in the warmth of the cab I was able to relax, needing only pay enough attention at the end of the trip to give the driver directions to the destination.

Relatively simple, but 2 1/2 hours to cover a little over 6 miles seems excessive to me.

About Alan

I'm an Economist, Geek, Campaigner & wheelchair user who's been using all forms of public transport for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

