No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

20/11/14

Richmond – Kingston – Return

I don’t have a regular, full-time job, rather I have a patchwork of  things I do most of which involve causing trouble for someone to some degree, nipping at the heels of companies and people like some wheeled Yorkshire Terrier. I still haven’t worked out what my business card should say. Professional Gadfly isn’t really a job description, but it does fit.

Today the heels in question belonged to the local social care services in my role as citizen advocate.

Sadly the story of my journey was an old, oft repeated one. Although boarding the train passed without incident, there was no one to meet me. The guard was very accommodating and helped me off but frankly that just serves to paper over the cracks of a failed system. With only one person manning the station I don’t know whether he was out on other duties, forgot about me or simply didn’t get the message of my arrival. Whatever the reason, the end result is the same.

It was a similar story for the return journey. Boarding was straightforward, but the message failed to reach the platform staff at Richmond. The difference is that, being a bigger station, the platforms at Richmond are always manned so rather than fetch the ramp himself, the guard was able to ‘persuade’ his colleague to do the necessary.

So it’s a boring story that continues to happen. The real lesson for today is that even when you’re supporting others to get the support they need, the universe still has a way of dumping on you from height!

About Alan

I'm an Economist, Geek, Campaigner & wheelchair user who's been using all forms of public transport for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

