A Sign of the Future?

17/3/15

Richmond – Hammersmith – Fulham – Return

My destination today was in one of those bits of London that’s a transport desert if you can’t use buses. Previous trips have involved walking from Clapham and West Brompton (interesting on a sunny day, but 40 minutes each way), taxi from Clapham or Victoria (20 minutes and £20 each way) and even an accessible cab the whole way (very convenient, but £40)

ramp

Picture by @squirrelpot

Today I set off to try the trip on the bus now I find I can use them.

The first bus was an ‘old’ single decker with the kind of ramp with a rise at the top. These tend to be steep to start with, but as you reach the top they pitch you violently backwards. I’ve not gone over backwards, yet, but I’ve certainly felt like it and I’m sure others have. The sooner these are retired the better.

The second bus was fortunately much kinder and more comfortable to board.

JpegAs I went to catch the bus coming back I could see the doors closing and the bus pull away as I approached the stop. This is always disappointing and happens to everyone. This driver however was clearly observant and very generous. He obviously saw me coming so he stopped the bus again and deployed the ramp to let me on. I hope karma repays him in some way.

On the bus I was interested to note the wording on the information sign, something I’d not seen before. “Buggy users MUST give priority to wheelchair users” (emphasis is mine).

I hope this is a sign of things to come (get it?)

About Alan

I'm an Economist, Geek, Campaigner & wheelchair user who's been using all forms of public transport for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

