Mini Trips, and Why They’re Rare

4/11/15

North Sheen – East Sheen

For most people the bus is used to cover just a handful of stops, or at least that’s my observation watching people get on and off. I’m still amazed by the number of people, especially school kids, who just jump on for one stop.

My bus journeys tend to be longer, often 20 minutes or more. There’s a few reasons for this. For me wheeling is not exactly taxing, pushing a joystick isn’t hard (there are exceptions, like when the ground is rough or it’s cold, but those are stories for another blog.) There’s also the complication of actually catching a bus, the waiting, the risk of the ramp not working or a buggy being in the wheelchair space. Then there’s the actual time to put the ramp out and get on board, and the getting off at the other end. The major reason for longer than average bus trips is simply that the tube and trains are so inaccessible. If I want to get from A to B across London longish bus trips are often my only option.

But today I made an exception. Today I was a typical bus user. Today I was running late and a bus came down the road and pulled up at the stop in front of me. I put on a spurt of speed and fortunately the driver saw me and waited.

I was only three stops, but I got there on time. It’s good to feel like a normal bus user occasionally.

About Alan

I'm an Economist, Geek, Campaigner & wheelchair user who's been using all forms of public transport for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

